Permits are issued by our Records Department, 248-433-7776
Hours of Operation: Monday – Thursday
7:00 AM to 5:00 PM
To apply, you must:
Be 18 years of age or older, as verified by a Michigan driver license or Michigan identification card, to purchase from a private party or family member. You must be 21 years old to purchase from a federal firearms dealer.
Be a citizen of the United States or a legal resident of this state, or a registered legal alien.
Not be prohibited from possessing, using, transporting, selling, purchasing, carrying, shipping, receiving, or distributing a firearm under section 224f of the Michigan penal code, Act No. 238 of the Public Acts of 1931, being section 750.224f of the Michigan Compiled Laws; and have not been convicted of domestic violence.
Not have been adjudged insane in this state or elsewhere unless you have been adjudged restored to sanity by a court order;
Not under an order of involuntary commitment in an inpatient or outpatient setting due to mental illness;
Not have been adjudged legally incapacitated in this state or elsewhere. This subdivision does not apply to a person who has his or her legal capacity restored by order of the court.
Violation of Gun Laws
Michigan law provides severe penalties including incarceration for violating provisions of any Act dealing with the regulation of pistols and handguns. Making a false statement, using false identification, or failing to register a pistol are only a few. If you have questions or concerns about the purchase, sale, transportation, possession or processes involved in dealing with handguns, contact any police agency prior to action.
Application and License to Purchase a Pistol
An Application and License to Purchase a Pistol (RI-10) is a license required prior to acquisition of a pistol by purchase or gift from an individual. An individual may apply for a License to Purchase a Pistol at any agency in the state that issues License to Purchase forms. The application process for all qualified applicants includes a criminal record check and completion of a notarized form supplied by this department. Applicants should allow a minimum of 30 minutes for the application process.
An Application and License to Purchase a Pistol is NOT required for individuals who are purchasing from a Federal Firearm Licensed dealer or possess a valid Michigan Concealed Pistol License. If you have a MCPL you must turn in a Michigan State Police Pistol Sales Record Form (RI-60) for each weapon purchased to your local police department within 10 days of the date of purchase. If purchasing from a Federal Firearm License dealer without the use of a Concealed Pistol License, the Pistol Sales Record Form (RI-60) must have the seller’s FFL number on the form.
The Application and License to Purchase a Pistol is a 3-part form. Each part must be completed and returned to the issuing agency within 10 days of the date of purchase. You may receive as many as five (5) permits at one time. All forms must be legibly printed in ink. The License must be used within 30 days. Since all Permits are strictly accounted for and issued to you, all permit forms must be returned to the issuing agency whether used or not. It is permissible to mail them back.
If the purchase is to be made from a private person (not a Federal Firearm Licensed dealer), you must have the seller complete his/her portion of the permit including the date of sale. Be sure his/her name is legible to ensure the transition of the weapon out of his/her name and into yours. You will give the “seller copy” of the form to the seller and the “purchaser copy” is yours to keep. The law requires you, as the purchaser, to keep your copy for 30 days. It is recommended to retain the copy in a safe place separate from the gun even after the 30-day period; as this will be the only paperwork you will receive from the State of Michigan. The remaining copy of the form (MSP Copy) is to be returned to the issuing agency within 10 days of the date of purchase.
You may transport a gun unloaded in a wrapper or container in the trunk of your vehicle or, if the vehicle does not have a trunk, transport the gun unloaded in a locked compartment or container that is separated from the ammunition. This may be done from the place of purchase to the purchaser’s home or place of business, or to a place of repair and back to home or place of business, or in moving goods from one home or business to another home or business.
Concealed Weapon Application Packets
Residents of Michigan are generally required to obtain a Concealed Weapons License for carrying a concealed pistol on their person or for transporting a pistol loaded or unloaded in a motor vehicle. This entire process may take as much as 90 days to complete.
Pick up application kit at police department.
Complete required firearms training.
Take completed application, firearms training certificate, and required monies to Oakland County Clerk’s Office for processing and the Oakland County Sheriff's Department for fingerprinting.
1. Don't I have to wait five days?
In Michigan you are not required to wait five days to qualify for an Application and License to Purchase a Pistol permit. Because Michigan already had a thorough procedure in place for issuing permits before the Brady Bill was enacted, Michigan is exempt from this section of the Brady Bill, which requires a five-day waiting period.
2. How long do I have to wait for an Application and License to Purchase a Pistol Permit?
An Application and License to Purchase a Pistol will be issued at the time the request is made as long as the applicant meets all qualifications outlined in the Gun Registration section and meets all of Bloomfield Township Police Department’s background criteria. If the applicant meets all listed qualifications, the Police Department will conduct a criminal history check on the applicant to determine whether or not there is any criminal history that prevents the applicant from purchasing a handgun. There will be a delay if the criminal history record cannot be obtained immediately. If the applicant’s record is clear, an Application and License to Purchase a Pistol will then be printed, signed by applicant and notarized by the Police Department. Applicants should allow a minimum of 30 minutes for this process.
3. Why does the Oakland County Sheriff's Department no longer issue gun permits?
Due to increasing numbers of requests for gun related matters, the Oakland County Sheriff's Department divested itself of all gun-related licensing matters, with the exception of Concealed Weapons Permits. Subsequently, all local law enforcement agencies assumed the responsibility, making it more convenient for their local residents.
4. Why am I fingerprinted every time I renew my concealed weapons permit?
Fingerprints are submitted to the State of Michigan and to the Federal Bureau of Investigations for a criminal history check. Because a Concealed Weapons Permit is valid for up to five years and a person's criminal history could change over time, it is necessary to check the criminal history of the applicant each time it is renewed.
5. Do I need to bring the Gun in when returning the Application and License to Purchase a Pistol Permit or the Pistol Sales Record?
No, the State of Michigan no longer requires a safety inspections be completed when purchasing a handgun.