Permits are issued by our Records Department, 248.433.7776
Hours of Operation: Monday – Thursday
7:00 AM to 5:00 PM
To apply, you must:
Be 18 years of age or older, as verified by a Michigan
driver license or Michigan identification card, to purchase
from a private party or family member. You must be 21 years
old to purchase from a federal firearms dealer.
Be a citizen of the United States or a legal resident of
this state, or a registered legal alien.
Not be prohibited from possessing, using, transporting,
selling, purchasing, carrying, shipping, receiving, or
distributing a firearm under section 224f of the Michigan
penal code, Act No. 238 of the Public Acts of 1931, being
section 750.224f of the Michigan Compiled Laws; and have not
been convicted of domestic violence.
Not have been adjudged insane in this state or elsewhere
unless you have been adjudged restored to sanity by a court
Not under an order of involuntary commitment in an
inpatient or outpatient setting due to mental illness;
Not have been adjudged legally incapacitated in this
state or elsewhere. This subdivision does not apply to a
person who has his or her legal capacity restored by order
of the court.
Successfully pass by 70%, a written test administered by
the issuing department.
Violation of Gun Laws
Michigan law provides severe penalties including
incarceration for violating provisions of any Act dealing with
the regulation of pistols and handguns. Making a false
statement, using false identification, or failing to register
a pistol are only a few. If you have questions or concerns
about the purchase, sale, transportation, possession or
processes involved in dealing with handguns, contact any
police agency prior to action.
Application and License to Purchase a Pistol
Application and License to Purchase a Pistol
An Application and License to Purchase a Pistol (RI-10) is a
license required prior to acquisition of a pistol by
purchase or gift from an individual. An individual may apply
for a License to Purchase a Pistol at any agency in the
state that issues License to Purchase forms. The application
process for all qualified applicants includes a criminal
record check and completion of a notarized form supplied by
this department. Applicants should allow a minimum of 30
minutes for the application process.
An Application and License to Purchase a Pistol is NOT
required for individuals who are purchasing from a Federal
Firearm Licensed dealer or possess a valid Michigan
Concealed Pistol License. If you have a MCPL you must turn
in a Michigan State Police Pistol Sales Record Form (RI-60)
for each weapon purchased to your local police department
within 30 days of the date of purchase. If purchasing from a
Federal Firearm License dealer without the use of a
Concealed Pistol License, the Pistol Sales Record Form
(RI-60) must have the seller’s FFL number on the form.
The Application and License to Purchase a Pistol is a 3-part
form and each part must be completed as required. You may
receive as many as five (5) permits at one time. All forms
must be legibly printed in ink. The License must be used
within 30 days. Since all Permits are strictly accounted for
and issued to you, all unused permit forms must be returned
to the police department that issues the permit whether used
or not. It is permissible to mail them back.
If the purchase is to be made from a private person (not a
Federal Firearm Licensed dealer), you must have the seller
complete his/her portion of the permit including the date of
sale. Be sure his/her name is legible to ensure the
transition of the weapon out of his/her name and into yours.
You will give the “seller copy” of the form to the seller
and the “purchaser copy” is yours to keep. The law requires
you, as the purchaser, to keep your copy for 30 days. It is
recommended to retain the copy in a safe place separate from
the gun even after the 30-day period; as this will be the
only paperwork you will receive from the State of Michigan.
The remaining copy of the form (MSP Copy) is to be returned
to the police department that it was received from within 30
days of the date of purchase.
You may transport a gun unloaded in a wrapper or container
in the trunk of your vehicle or, if the vehicle does not have
a trunk, transport the gun unloaded in a locked compartment or
container that is separated from the ammunition. This may be
done from the place of purchase to the purchaser’s home or
place of business, or to a place of repair and back to home or
place of business, or in moving goods from one home or
business to another home or business.
Concealed Weapon Application Packets
Residents of Michigan are generally required to obtain a
Concealed Weapons License for carrying a concealed pistol on
their person or for transporting a pistol loaded or unloaded
in a motor vehicle. This entire process may take as much as 90
days to complete.
Pick up application kit at police department.
Complete required firearms training.
Take completed application, firearms training
certificate, and required monies to Oakland County Clerk’s
Office for processing and the Oakland County Sheriff's
Department for fingerprinting.
1. Don't I have to wait five days?
In Michigan you are not required to wait five days to qualify
for an Application and License to Purchase a Pistol permit.
Because Michigan already had a thorough procedure in place for
issuing permits before the Brady Bill was enacted, Michigan is
exempt from this section of the Brady Bill, which requires a
five-day waiting period.
2. How long do I have to wait for an Application and
License to Purchase a Pistol Permit?
An Application and License to Purchase a Pistol will be
issued at the time the request is made as long as the
applicant meets all qualifications outlined in the Gun
Registration section and meets all of Bloomfield Township
Police Department’s background criteria. If the applicant
meets all listed qualifications, the Police Department will
conduct a criminal history check on the applicant to
determine whether or not there is any criminal history that
prevents the applicant from purchasing a handgun. There will
be a delay if the criminal history record cannot be obtained
immediately. If the applicant’s record is clear, an
Application and License to Purchase a Pistol will then be
printed, signed by applicant and notarized by the Police
Department. Applicants should allow a minimum of 30 minutes
for this process.
3. Why does the Oakland County Sheriff's Department no
longer issue gun permits?
Due to increasing numbers of requests for gun related matters,
the Oakland County Sheriff's Department divested itself of all
gun-related licensing matters, with the exception of Concealed
Weapons Permits. Subsequently, all local law enforcement
agencies assumed the responsibility, making it more convenient
for their local residents.
4. Why am I fingerprinted every time I renew my
concealed weapons permit?
Fingerprints are submitted to the State of Michigan and to the
Federal Bureau of Investigations for a criminal history check.
Because a Concealed Weapons Permit is valid for up to five
years and a person's criminal history could change over time,
it is necessary to check the criminal history of the applicant
each time it is renewed.
5. Do I need to bring the Gun in when returning the
Application and License to Purchase a Pistol Permit or the
Pistol Sales Record?
No, the State of Michigan no longer requires a
safety inspections be completed when purchasing a handgun.
Home | Government
| Services |
Current Events |
Contact Us |
E-mail List |
Site Map |
Site Use Policy
Township of Bloomfield
4200 Telegraph Road
P.O. Box 489
Bloomfield Township, MI 48303-0489
All information © 2013
Bloomfield Township, Michigan
Having trouble with Adobe? Click here.